Swiss land of Health and Recuperation

Kloster Apotheke


Adresse:
Klosterstrasse 1
9108 Jakobsbad

Centuries-old knowledge of naturopathy
Many monasteries of the Middle Ages were famous for their herb gardens and for their knowledge, which far exceeded the usual, common knowledge. The power of natural remedies has always been the “natural” help or supplement to ensure or improve the health of a person.
Young monastery – on historical ground
Our relatively young monastery is located in an originally uninviting place – but it has a long religious tradition and is therefore also fertile ground. The area of ​​today’s Jakobsbad was in the late Middle Ages on the pilgrimage route of the Austrians (especially the Vorarlberg and Tyroleans) to Maria Einsiedeln. The country of Appenzell was divided into outer and inner rhodes shortly before 1600 for confessional reasons. In the border area between Gonten (inner rhodes), which remained Catholic, and the reformed Hundwil (outer rhodes), the desire for a place of prayer soon arose. Therefore, at the present location of the monastery, where there was a farm with sawmill and mill (the “Sägenweidli”), a wayside shrine was erected: “Passionis Christi – Leiden Christi (the sufferings of Christ)”; it contained a baroque sculpture, a picture of the painful Mother of God, which was soon venerated as a picture of grace. The name Leiden Christi therefore goes back further than “only” until it was founded in 1851. In 1851, the property was bought by Sister Maria Johanna Rosa Bättig from the Wonnenstein Abbey. Thus begins the real story of the “Leiden Christi” monastery and its monastery pharmacy.
Guided tour
The monastery with the church can be visited. This visit offers the possibility to experience the emergence of the monastery and its history until the present day tasks. The visit also includes a tour of the monastery garden and the monastery pharmacy.
Number of participants: min. 4 to max. 20 persons
Cost: CHF 6.00 per person
360 android apple household left loading location map marker menu nav-info nav-map nav-qr-code nav-quizz right search square tick trophy update
APP

La Suisse, pays de santé et récupération

Kloster Apotheke


Adresse:
Klosterstrasse 1
9108 Jakobsbad

Connaissance multiséculaire de la naturopathie

De nombreux monastères du Moyen-Âge étaient réputés pour leurs jardins d’herbes et pour leurs connaissances, qui dépassaient de loin les connaissances habituelles. Le pouvoir des remèdes naturels a toujours été une aide ou un complément «naturel» pour assurer ou promouvoir la santé d’une personne.

Un jeune monastère – sur un terrain historique

Notre monastère relativement jeune est situé dans un endroit peu accueillant à l’origine – mais il a une longue tradition religieuse et est donc également un terrain fertile. La région de Jakobsbad d’aujourd’hui était à la fin du Moyen Âge située sur la route de pèlerinage des Autrichiens (en particulier du Vorarlberg et du Tyrol) à Maria Einsiedeln. Le pays d’Appenzell a été divisé en rhodes intérieurs et extérieurs peu avant 1600 pour des raisons confessionnelles. Dans la zone frontalière entre le Gonten (rhodes intérieurs), qui est resté catholique, et le Hundwil (rhodes extérieurs) réformé, le désir d’un lieu de prière est rapidement apparu. Par conséquent, sur le site actuel du monastère, où se trouvait une ferme avec scierie et moulin (le « Sägenweidli »), un sanctuaire en bordure de route a été érigé: « Passionis Christi – Leiden Christi (les souffrances du Christ) »; il contenait une sculpture baroque, une image de la douloureuse Mère de Dieu, qui fut bientôt vénérée comme une image de grâce. Le nom Leiden Christi remonte donc plus loin que «seulement» jusqu’à sa fondation en 1851. En 1851, la propriété a été achetée par sœur Maria Johanna Rosa Bättig à l’abbaye de Wonnenstein. C’est là que commence la véritable histoire du monastère « Leiden Christi » et de sa pharmacie.

Visite guidée

Une visite du monastère avec l’église peut être réservée à l’avance. Vous ferez connaissance de l’origine du monastère et de son histoire depuis jusqu’aux travaux  actuels. La visite comprend également un tour du jardin du monastère et de la pharmacie du monastère.
Nombre de participants: min. 4 à max. 20 personnes
Coût: CHF 6.00 par personne

360 android apple household left loading location map marker menu nav-info nav-map nav-qr-code nav-quizz right search square tick trophy update
APP